For Thanksgiving this past year, Spike and I were lucky enough to travel to Spain for a week to visit a friend.  We had an amazing time visiting Madrid, Barcelona, Segovia, Valladolid and Toledo–and yes, we packed all of that into one week.  It was exhausting, but totally worth it! 

We had some pretty amazing food, too, and knowing we’d want to share it, we took some pics!

These are the typical ‘menu del dia’ items that we had for lunch most days.  Grilled meat and fried potatoes, along with an appetizer (I had vegetable paella with this meal) and dessert.  One thing I could not get used to during our trip was the eating schedule!  Having a huge lunch in the afternoon and then a really late dinner did not do my waistline any favors.  I like to eat like a senior citizen–hello, early bird specials!  I had the grilled chicken above, and it was excellent.  Notice the Fanta in the picture, too–I love me some European Fanta!  Sadly, I bought some back here in the states, and it is not good at all.

A little window shopping…

These little nuns were making marzipan, a Toledo speciality.  We tried a few different kinds there, but my favorites were with one with pine nuts, and one dipped in chocolate.

In Barcelona we went to a tapas place near Placa d’Espanya and had probably our favorite meal (aside from our improvised Thanksgiving, which will be the subject of a future post!).

The patates frites were Spike’s and my favorite dish.  It came with an aioli-type dipping sauce that was muy caliente y delicioso! We also had some chorizo, some shrimp, and a few others that aren’t pictured.  And of course, we had to get dessert…

I had a coconut pudding with homemade mango and blackberry ice creams.  We also shared a chocolate fondue with fruit, and Spike picked the winner–chocolate lava cake with homemade toffee ice cream.  So good!

We’ve got loads more pictures, so I’ll save some for later.  What are your favorite culinary destinations?

